Tuesday, 20 October 2015

YolaYelwa, Kaduna Kakuri, others emerged winners as MTN Yola 2015 Polo Tourney Winds To A Close

After eight days of intense Polo action, YolaYelwa, Kaduna Kakuri, BauchiGabasawa and KatsinaGobarau haveemerged the big winners at the just concluded MTN sponsored annual Polo Tournament that held in Yola. Dignitaries and Polo enthusiasts from around the country converged atthe lush AliyuMusdafa Polo ground to witness the week-long exciting equestrian game.
Kaduna Kakuri gave a good account of themselves as they lifted the coveted Lamido’s Cup, KatsinaGobarau clinched the Admiral Nyako’s Cup, BauchiGabasawa claimed the INTEL’s Cup while the home team, YolaYelwa grabbed the famous Governor’s Cup.

Port Harcourt BSC,Heritage Bank, Katsina Dan Marina, YolaFombina, Adamawa Lions and BauchiUbandawaki were some other Polo teams that participated in the tourney.

The tournament sponsors, MTN, Nigeria’s leading ICT Company, lived up to its promise by presenting a cheque of N5m to the Yola Polo Club.

Speaking on the event, the Executive Governor of Adamawa State, MuhammaduJibrillaBindo commended MTN for sponsoring the event.  According to him, the company’s partnership with Yola Polo Club is one that would impact positively on the state.

Also speaking was the President of the Nigerian Polo Federation, Francis Ogboro who called on other corporate bodies to borrow a leaf from MTN’s sponsorship of the tourney.

Meanwhile, here are some pictures from the tourney…

No comments:

Post a Comment